Events & Programs


Browsing event topic: day camp

  • Summer Camp: Wonderful Water
    • Monday Jul 21, 2014 – Friday Jul 25, 2014
      9:00 am – 3:00 pm
    • Location: Gilsland Farm, Greater Portland
    • [map]
    • Child Members: $200, Child Non-members: $240
    • Ages 9-11

    Why do all animals and plants need water? Campers will learn all about water and how to keep our water resources clean and healthy for the future. We will search for bullfrogs, cool down with water games and explore the wonderfully watery and wild places at Gilsland Farm and beyond.

    Camp Session (5 days):

    • Monday, July 21 – Friday, July 25
  • The Big and Small of It All
    • Monday Jul 28, 2014 – Friday Aug 1, 2014
      9:00 am – 3:00 pm
    • Location: Fields Pond, Greator Bangor
    • [map]
    • Child Members: $200.00, Child Non-members: $250.00
    • Ages 6-12
    20130619_125453

    Summer Nature Camp – Time to take it outside. . .

    Explore, play, and learn this summer with Fields Pond day camps! Our camps feature outdoor explorations, games, stories, and arts activities designed to build children’s knowledge of and connection to nature. Our camps maintain small camper groups that allow us to build a community of cooperating and caring.

    Financial assistance is available.  Application available on our website.

    From exploring our climax forest to microhikes, your camper will be on a roller coaster of magnificent proportions as we move through big ideas like interdependence on down to microscopic larvae in the pond. Join us as we take it outside to savor the amazement of how big and how small our wonderful world is.

    * PLEASE CALL 989-2591, WE MAY BE INCREASING ENROLLMENT. *

     

  • Summer Camp: Habitat Safari
    • Monday Jul 28, 2014 – Friday Aug 8, 2014
      9:00 am – 3:00 pm
    • Location: Gilsland Farm, Greater Portland
    • [map]
    • Child Members: $400, Child Non-members: $440
    • Ages 6-9

    Explore our varied habitats and learn how animals depend upon them for food and shelter. We will develop skills like nature sketching, plant identification and bird watching, while appreciating the world around us.

    Camp Session (2 weeks):

    • Week One: Monday, July 28 – Friday, August 1
    • Week Two: Monday, August 4 – Friday, August 8
  • Summer Camp: Animals Great and Small
    • Monday Aug 11, 2014 – Friday Aug 15, 2014
      9:00 am – 3:00 pm
    • Location: Gilsland Farm, Greater Portland
    • [map]
    • Child Members: $200, Child Non-members: $220
    • Ages 6-7

    Campers will explore the ponds, meadows, forests and salt marsh in search of creatures of all sizes. We will play fun and educational animal-themed games.

    Camp Session (5 days):

    • Monday, August 11 – Friday, August 15

    Many of our Preschool Programs and Camps have ongoing registration. Call to check availability

     

  • Summer Camp: Too Cool For School
    • Monday Aug 18, 2014 – Friday Aug 22, 2014
      9:00 am – 3:00 pm
    • Location: Gilsland Farm, Greater Portland
    • [map]
    • Child Members: $200, Child Non-members: $240
    • Ages 6-9

    It’s hot! Learn how animals keep themselves cool during the hottest days of the summer. We will find the coolest places at Gilsland Farm to play games, make crafts and learn how animals have evolved to ‘stay cool.’

    Camp Session (5 days):

    • Monday, August 18 – Friday, August 22